TUITION AND REFUND POLICY
Student Complaint Form
Iowa School of Construction is registered by the Iowa College Student Aid Commission (Iowa College Aid) to operate in Iowa. Iowa College Aid has created a Student Complaint Form to accept a student’s questions, concerns, or complaint related to a postsecondary school. A student may also contact Iowa College Aid toll-free at (877) 272-4456.
IOWA SCHOOL OF CONSTRUCTION REFUND POLICY
Iowa Tuition Refund Policy
Iowa School of Construction offers 60 (sixty) school days in the school’s payment period for the Construction Building Skill’s Program (where the student will earn a General Construction Skill Certificate). The tuition charge is $ 4,200.00. The first two weeks of the program are 100% refundable. After the first two weeks, a 95% refund will be proportionally issued up to 60% completion of the program (36 days). After 60% completion (after 36 days), no refund will apply. Refunds are made within 45-days of withdrawal.
Please see below how we calculate the tuition refund proportional to the days attended:
1) # of (school days in the term) - # of (school days the student completed in the term) = # of (school days the student failed to complete in the term)
2) # of (school days the student failed to complete in the term) divided by # of (school days in the term) = (the percentage of the term that the student failed to complete)
3) (the percentage of the term that the student failed to complete) X $4,200 (tuition charge for the term) = Amount of Refund (minimum tuition charge refund/reduction to the student).
School-friendly Refund Calculation
Iowa School of Construction offers a 60-day Construction Skilled Trained program and charges $4,200 for tuition. And will be using this formula to calculate a refund:
.60 (sixty percent) x 60 (total # of calendar days of the school period) = 36 days.
If the student attended 36 days or more of the school period, the school would not be required to refund the student. For example, if a student dropped out at 12 days and therefore did not reach the 60% point (or 36 days). The school would need to issue the student a refund using the formula below:
a) 60 (total # of calendar days in the school period) – 12 (# of calendar days the student completed in the school period) = 48 (# of calendar days the student failed to complete in the school period)
b) 48 ÷ 60 = 0.8 (percentage of the school period that the student failed to complete)
c) 0.8 x $4,200 (tuition charges for the school period) = $3,360 (amount of refund prior to school’s administrative charges.
d) $ 3,360. x .95 (Iowa law allows the school to retain 5% in administrative charges) = $3,192 (Minimum tuition charge refund/ reduction owed to the student).
Exceptional Refund Policy
If, at any time, a student terminates after the first two calendar weeks due to the student’s physical incapacity or, for a program that requires classroom instruction, due to the transfer of the student’s spouse employment to another city, the terminating student shall receive a full refund of the tuition charges in an amount that equals the amount of tuition charges to student multiplies by the ratio of the remaining number of calendar days in the school’s payment period to the total number of calendar days
in the school payment period.